Perseverance

per·se·ver·ance
ˌpərsəˈvirəns/
continued effort to do or achieve something despite difficulties, failure, or opposition :  the action or condition or an instance of persevering :  steadfastness  (Merrian-Webster)
In karate: being determined to win (succeed) no matter what.
As announced here last month, I decided this fall to try again to earn my third degree black belt in songham taekwondo after trying and not passing once in 2015. Last night, perseverance paid off!

 

3rd-degree
(L – R) My husband, me, and our instructor after testing last night. You can’t see from this angle but my belt now matches my husband’s!
After sixteen months of further training, multiple unexpected complications, several heartfelt discussions with my instructor, and 28lbs lost, I received my new belt last night!
Many thanks to my husband, who combines Darcy’s persistence with Bingley’s good nature, for helping me not to ever give up. I love you!
Whatever your dream is, don’t be afraid to persevere!
Leave a Reply

