The Start of Something New

A month ago, I had just finished writing my second book, Love’s Fool: The Taming of Lydia Bennet, and publishing it on Fanfiction.net. That book, plus its prequel, Mr. Darcy’s Persistent Pursuit, had generated a lot of positive reviews and made me wonder: could I publish a book? If I did publish it, would anyone buy it? If they did buy it, would they like it? Did I dare to find out?

With the encouragement of friends and family, I started researching what to do and how to do it, and then started editing documents, formatting pages, and designing covers. As I worked, I kept wondering if any of it would pay off in the end, if my little books would find a bigger home than just in my mind and in the world of the Fanfiction readers. Finally I could put it off no longer. The moment of truth loomed. I let my finger hover over the “Publish” button, took a gulp, said a prayer, closed my eyes, and sent my stories off to meet their fate.

The results have been outstanding. Thank you, thank you, and thank you again to my patient family, my encouraging friends, and my enthusiastic readers. I hope to connect with each of you better by using this blog. This is truly the start of something new.

Leave a Reply

